What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New to the scene

I am brand new to the Drosera-growing scene, and have started out with a tiny little terrarium, which I'm currently rather proud of. At the moment, I'm sure I don't have enough light for my plants, but I'll be getting a better bulb on Tuesday. The old bulb I've had them under for the past day and a half does not have a light color rating listed in Kelvin, but it does say "warm-white" which I believe was in the area of 3000k-3500k.

I honestly don't know what sort of sundews I've got, but I believe they're D. capensis. They're growing in a mix of 2:1 peat:vermiculite, since I couldn't find any non-miracle gro perlite at the store I went to, and that mix is on top of about an inch and a half of aquarium gravel.

Will it cause undue stress for the inside of the terrarium to briefly reach 105 degrees F? I try to keep it between 70 and 90 degrees but today, the sun had other plans.

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome to our hobby/addiction! Got a decent little setup going there, it will be full of life in no time:).

And yes that's quite hot...I would keep it away from the sun if that's the case.

Last edited:
I'm really looking to put in another couple plants. Probably D. aliciae if I can find them, but only after I've finished tinkering with my environment and made sure they'll survive in there. D. aliciae is also a South African sundew, correct? It'll thrive in a similar environment to D. capensis? Actually, I've looked around and have not been able to find anywhere a definitive list of CPs that'll grow well with D. capensis. Does anybody here have such a list? I'd like to take a peek at it.