Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sad spiralis after repotting

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Sad spiralis after repotting

So I already asked about root shock on another forum, but since I'm new to repotting Drosera (except for a D. capensis, which I probably could have stomped on underfoot and still not have set-back), I'm wondering if anyone else has experienced problems with repotting D. spiralis or other SA sundews. I always thought they had hardy roots and weren't sensitive to repotting.

I did struggle a bit to get the roots into the sphagnum moss when I repotted my D. spiralis, since most of the media around the roots fell away. Could that be a source of the leaf die-off?

This photo was taken right after repotting, on the 8th of February.

This photo was taken yesterday. I want to note that there is a leaf that isn't clearly visible in the photo (it's right behind the newest leaf) which was dying off before repotting, which has now ceased browning. Odd.

Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Almost any sundew can experience a loss of leaves and vigor when being repotted. I find it is more the exception to find a plant that has no losses when having the old soil removed from the roots. The vast majority of a plant's root surface area is in root hairs which are almost completely lost when it is bare-rooted. Of course you can remove a plant with an intact root ball and plant it that way in order to avoid transplanting shock.
    - Mark

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for that info on the root hairs, Mark. I plan to simply cut away the pot when I repot my other spiralis, in order to keep the media intact. Currently I'm worried that the last leaf will die off before it recovers.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)