What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

wondering about sundew

do sundews need dormancy of any sort and are they the most efficient bug catchers of carnivorious plants?

Some sundews need dormancy....others do not.

It all depends on what type you get.

Most people break them down into a couple of types:

Temperate - need dormancy

Tropical - no dormancy

Tuberous - no clue about dormancy

Some people breakdown the sundews further into

Petiolaris
Pygmy

I am not sure about dormancy for these guys.

They are effective bug catchers, but they really only catch small things ( gnats, mozzies :smile:...nothing too big )

Wish I could be more help, but I am still learning about these guys.

Yes... there are temperate and tropical droseras. Tuberous droseras have a summer dormancy during which they die back to an underground tuber... you probably won't be growing these until you have more experience with sundews. The easiest to start with would be a simple tropical or temperate drosera... d. capensis, aliciae, binata, capillaris, or spathulata. Capensis is a great beginner sundew, easy to grow, it moves dramatically and can handle larger prey (large flies, even bees).. just keep the light level up on this one. What specific species are you planning on getting? We can give you more information if we know this.

Pygmies and petiolaris drosera have a dormancy, they are temperate sundews like most north american droseras.

Noah

temperate Drosera rotundifolia, intermedia, longifolia, filiformis,....(need cold winter dormancy, frost resistent)

subtropical Drosera capensis, aliciae, spatulata, venusta, slakii,.... (should have a cool winter dormancy, but can be grown year around)
The easiest Drosera