What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

drosera pulchella seed

I just got Drosera pulchella seeds and ive read that they are a pigmy species so--how do i go about germinating them? they are subtropical are they not? So they should germinate rather easily in warm conditions shouldnt they?Do I need to treat the seeds with smoke or soak them? Or are they going to need cooler conditions like many other australian drosera?
confused.gif

Thanks,

Joel
biggrin.gif

Hi Joel,

Pygmy species can be difficult, and I have had limited experience with germinating them. I suggest you do a good websearch with the terms "Pygmy drosera seed germination" and see what you can find, and let us know what you find out.

Ok after much searching and everybody opting for the easy way out bye just telling about gemmae production I found some info.. though not much diffrerent from Tuberous drosera info. they said to put ash in the potting mix. The basic drift of what I read is that D.pulchellais an easy one at least to grow,along with, D.paleacea,manni, enodes roseana, nittidula ssp. omissa, and most of the hybrids. These enjoy a 3/1 mix of peat/sand, and none of these require dormancy, they are kept on the tray method all year. The seeds will germinate at temps from 41-95 F but perfer 68-86 F. Some also recomented giving the seed a time of very cool strat like conditions, to ensure a good germination, but i believe he was refering to the annual drosera that require dormancy.

Joel
biggrin.gif