What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New drosera seeds

ludwig777

Neps, Neps, Neps.........
I'm relatively new to Drosera aside from the common 'weeds' capensis and binata varieties (love the 'Marston's Dragon") so I decided to venture into more uncommon types so you see my seed list here.  Any advice on sowing them sucessfully would be much appreciated.  I live in San Diego, California (near San Diego Harbor which greatly stabalizes my temperatures as compared to many other parts of Southern California, especially inland valleys and mountains) and my winters only seldom drop to around 45°F (and once in a blue moon down to the high 30's but this is VERY rare) so I was hoping to grow outdoors and I figured the cold stratification would do them good.  Can someone please comment on each of the 4 listed above and if they would do ok in my conditions? (I had also planned to use the standard 50/50 mix of peat and sand).  Thanks very much,
Ludwig.

...sorry, misspelled 'petiolaris'....Ludwig

Hi,
D.indica is tropical & wouldnt need statification, I dont stratify  d.burmanni seeds, and they have germinated but they can take cooler temps, and d.petiolaris will need LOTS of heat to germinate. I usually use a little perlite in with peat and sand, but they arent that pickey.

good luck
cole

Non of the species need a starification time, so it should be pretty easy. Just scatter the seeds on a mix of peat/sand and keep moist and humid. Place them in ziplock bags and place on a sunny windowsill or under growlights. Petiolaris will offer a bit of a trickiness to it. It requires some heat to germinate, so place the pot/zip lock bag ontop a heat mat, like a reptile heat mat. Good lcuk-Zach