What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mould....

Grrr... My binata "Small Red" has this PROBLEM!!!! Its in my terrarium, and when the lid is shut all the way it gets white mold on the bug carcasses, but when its open (i hold up two corners with pop bottle lids) it gets chilly in there...

WUT DO I DO???

Thanks you. Heh...
Greg

i am no expert but i dont think that the mold is a problem. I have little seedlings of other drosera that are in mold and thriving. And from what i have seen in my little experience with binata, they thrive in the same atmosphere as mold except they like alot more light than mold does. The white mold never bothers any of my plants that i have seen and it is in a bunch of places.
biggrin.gif

cheers,

Joel

Hmm, well, thank you Joel...

And to clarify... That "WHAT DO I DO???" Was a frustrated tone, not panicked. Hehe... Oy...
confused.gif

First, stop feeding your plants until the problem resolves. Second, get a small paintbrush and a bottle of isopropyl alcohol. Wet the brush and dab the spots that has mold.
These plants have never done well for me long term in terraria. Possibly you could grow them on a windowsill? They should not go dormant unless it is chilly enough for you to need a jacket :)