What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Well, i dun no wuts wrong with me and pygmies...

Well, it seems most of the Lake Badgerpud (spelling is wrong lol) is dying, even though i was told to grow them outdoors. All my pygmies are on theyre way out and my last hope are some hyperostigma gemmae donated from Tamlin. Man...i thought i was an Iron Chef of Drosera, but the pygmies! my god the pygmies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
sad.gif

Pygmy species often do not transplant well. Great care must be taken not to damage the fine hairlike roots, and to ensure that they are properly seated in the medium. After transplant, the plants are in a delicate condition, and must slowly be weaned to strong light. This process takes weeks, and during this time they require less intense conditions. The gemmae I sent should be sown on 60/40 washed silica sand (not river sand) and peat, and left standing in a watering tray) Since your conditions seem to be quite harsh, I recommend that you give them only direct morning sun for a few hours until they establish themselves, gradually increasing the period of sun over successive weeks.

Hey Ceph88,
sorry to hear that:( What conditions are you growing them in? Temperatures? Humidity? Light? Do you happen to be growing them in a large pot? I have never had pygmies do well in small pots in sun.

Tamlin,
The pygmies you sent me are doing quite well:) The only two that died are the callisto and pygmaea 'NZ'. The pulchella pink flower are over an in. and the eneabba, ericksoniae, xcarburup and pygmaea 'ESA' are approaching an in:)