What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

d. cap giant

here is the plant i was talking about that i got from the pft clearance sale a couple months ago :
d.%20cap%20giant.jpg

some people said that it was a large form of capensis which i highly doubted . i believe that it is a large form of cappilaris but somepeople said that pft would probably never sale the plant and if they did it must've come out the private collection which i think is what happened . nice plant though .

It looks juat like my d.capensis "giant" ! Nice palnts!
smile.gif

Well Im no expert, but that doesnt look like any capensis Ive ever seen.... It does look a lot like capillaris though. My vote is capillaris.

Steve

This is in no way Drosera capensis! Possibly it is D. capillaris though, and I suppose it could be considered a large form for that species. Pondboy, you need to change your plant label.

yah pond boy , that plant can be no way capensis so gotta change the label before you start a confusion . the plant is small at the moment , its in a regular pft pot so i will have to wait til the plant actually earns its reputation as being a true giant .

Yes, I agree.  It is not a capensis.  It probably is a D. capillaris "giant".  I purchased one from a local nursery not too long ago.

By the way, this brings me to a question I have for you all.  My D. capillaris "giant" was a very nice red coloration when I bought it, but the existing leaves died back, and the new leaves are a bright green.  It's in the same conditions as my other rosette drosera, such as my spat (see my sundew image upper left side of my posts).... so it is getting a good amount of light.  My question is: is the green leaves due to some kind of shock?  Any ideas?

thanks,
Homer