What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Drosera burmannii, form from Beerwah

Hi,

I have been growing this form for now more than 3 years, and it is the only form I have grown. It has pretty, large green rosette, mostly out of red pigmentation, even under strong lighting. But this year something change: most of the seeds sown grew up in red colored plants! Only 1-2 individuals in a pot of 20 show 'the original caracters'. What happens? A 'bad' genes recombination in the seeds formations process (the red genes took on the green? I don't know which one is recessive in this case...)? Any idea on this?

By the description I've read of this form, it is caracterized by the green color, and lack of red (even if it not totally). But since it is now totally transformed, do I still have the 'right' to label it as the form from Beerwah... It is still ok with the location, but not with the phenotypes...

Thanks

Hi Tom,

This seems very strange to me!  I have grown the Beerwah form outside in full sun, and have never gotten a red form.  Here is a photo of one plant which was grown outside in full sun.  The photo was taken at the end of the growing season (you can see the red in some other Drosera next to it):

Drosera_burmani_Beerwah_scale.sized.jpg

Are you also growing Drosera sessilifolia? If so, this may account for the color difference if the plants are confused or hybridized with each other?  Just a thought. How about posting a photo: is this possible?