Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Drosera burmannii, form from Beerwah

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

I have been growing this form for now more than 3 years, and it is the only form I have grown. It has pretty, large green rosette, mostly out of red pigmentation, even under strong lighting. But this year something change: most of the seeds sown grew up in red colored plants! Only 1-2 individuals in a pot of 20 show 'the original caracters'. What happens? A 'bad' genes recombination in the seeds formations process (the red genes took on the green? I don't know which one is recessive in this case...)? Any idea on this?

By the description I've read of this form, it is caracterized by the green color, and lack of red (even if it not totally). But since it is now totally transformed, do I still have the 'right' to label it as the form from Beerwah... It is still ok with the location, but not with the phenotypes...

Thanks

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Tom,

This seems very strange to me! I have grown the Beerwah form outside in full sun, and have never gotten a red form. Here is a photo of one plant which was grown outside in full sun. The photo was taken at the end of the growing season (you can see the red in some other Drosera next to it):

Are you also growing Drosera sessilifolia? If so, this may account for the color difference if the plants are confused or hybridized with each other? Just a thought. How about posting a photo: is this possible?

You might try writing to Ivan Snyder who introduced this form into the U.S. to see if his plants ever became red . Note that "Beerwah" is not a published cultivar, so there are really no qualifiers of color or form. By ICBN convention, the addition of anything other than the scientific binomial is considered illegitimate (despite frequent use ny everyone).

"Grow More, Share More"

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Tamlin,