What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Help. New to sundews...

Although I've had some pitcher plants for a couple years, I'm new to the cp scene. I just joined this forum last week and since then, I've learned more about cp's than I have the entire time I've had my pitchers. Now I'm just glad that I didn't kill them in my ignorance...

I have basically been a water gardener, but one of my fellow ponders offered some staghorn sundew in a trade for some waterlilies. Well, a light bulb went off in my head that I should get into collecting cp's. I was interested in them before anyway, but just hadn't got around to it.

Well, some little staghorn sundew arrived in today's mail from my friend in Maryland. I've been too busy to prepare for their arrival. I rushed out to go buy some peat moss and distilled water. I already have sand. I am going to plant them in a 50/50 mix of peat and sand and water with DI. I am going to have them outside in the yard. Eventually, I would like to have a bog garden, but I'm not quite ready yet.

My question (assuming all the above is OK): is it a good idea to have the potted plant sitting outside with water in the tray? I'm thinking that I could have pots in a tub with a little water at the bottom. This way, the sundew could have their toes wet all the time. I've also read that they like to have the humidity.

thanks,
Warren

Forked sundews like it very moist and soggy, i usually have the water level at the soil level, then once the water evaporates i leave it for 2 days, then re-fill
smile.gif
A 50/50 mix of dry peat and sand is a bit much, i would go with 2 parts peat and one part sand. works MUCH better.
smile.gif
good luck!!

Thanks Spectabilis. I'll go with 65/35 peat/sand.