What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Best beginner plant for me?

Hi - Please bear with me, I'm brand new to carniverous plants. I grow orchids and other tropicals with little problem. I am absolutely enamoured with Drosera, and am looking forward to obtaining my first. My first question is, can I grow it indoors successfully? I live in S. California so usually have ample sunlight in my west window. It is, however, very dry here. My second question is, what should I get? Obviously, it should be something easy, but I also want something small (not a large growing plant) because of space issues. Any suggestions would really be appreciated. Are the little guys for sale at Lowe's worth buying? Thanks so much! And one last question - does distilled water have to be used on all plants, or are there any that can be watered with tap water only?

Randi

First: It's spelled "carnivorous"

Second: Yes, there are many sundews that would grow very well on your windowsill. Some may even be able to grow outside where you are.

Third: I don't condone buying any plants from Lowe's until you are good enough with theplants to bring an ill one back to life. They don't take very good care of them. They leave em' too dry, the fertilize them, and all that.

Fourth: I recommend D. spatulata, D. adelae, and D. capensis as great beginners plants. I believe you'll find that D. capensis is harder to kill than to keep it alive. All of these are relatively small plants with D. spatulata being the smallest. None of these require dormancy.