What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New nepenthes wilting

Hello all,

I received some small (5" across) bareroot rafflesiana yesterday, and promptly put them in 4" plastic pots using pft's soil mix and distilled water. I wet and mixed the soil down into a muddy consistecy, filled the pot, dug a hole, placed the plant in, and evened the soil out. This is my first time potting and growing nepenthes.

I placed them downstairs near the window to slowly break them in (very little direct sunlight). Temps are probably around 60 degrees, and the weather report says humidity is 78% for my area. The plants are in water trays with maybe a quarter inch of water in them (drained out from the soil mix, no tray watering).

The problem is that they're wilting. I did some searching online and found out that it's a sign of distress, but when I read the list of do's and don'ts for nepenthes, it seemed like everything a person needs to do to get a bareroot going is a don't, and that once they're wilting, they're as good as gone.

I know that growing bareroot nepenthes is not a good idea for a beginner, but the plants were given to me free of charge. I'd hate to see them go to waste. Any ideas?

Thanks!

Take them out of the water, no direct sunlight and put them inside a clear bag with close to 100% humidity. Flourescent lights would help. Keep them above 70 degrees but below 90. Sounds like your soil mix might be a little too dense. The roots need air to survive. Is there any perlite or large chunks in your soil mix? If you can manage this for about a month, the plants should survive. Give them some periodic air flow every couple of days and look out for mold/fungus.

Hey,