What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Record for seed germination

I've been growing Nepenthes from seed for many years now, and I've found that they can take several months to germinate, but that good, fresh seed can take as little 28 days (well, for the highland species that I grow, anyway).

But I sowed a heap of seed of various highland species on 1 October, and wasn't expecting anything to happen until early November, or the last few days of October if I were lucky. Imagine my surprise when I checked the seed to see if there were any fungal problems today, to discover that the lowii seed had already started to germinate! After 13 days!

Anyone else had seed germinate that quickly?

Hamish

You do so highland seed in typical highland conditions right?

well Hamish it is interesting. I like to know if you kept record on the plant vitality when flowering,temperature,humidity,wind conditions,substrates and Ph level. Do post here.hank you.

Nepenthes in Sarawak,It is flowering time.I saw in an area where raflesiana,gracilia and mirabilis are all blooming.I will go back for more pix and post for viewing coming days...Robert

Actually, this lot of seed I've been a bit less disciplined with. I often put true highland species seed/seedlings in a fridge overnight (which I've done for aristolochioides and villosa). But this time I left the lowii on the kitchen windowsill, so it has been a pretty constant 20C. Now it has started to germinate, I'll start giving it cooler nights.

It was sowed on pure sphagnum, as that's how I grow all my seedlings.

What makes it more intriguing is that I only noticed it today on the thirteenth day, a couple of the seedlings look like they started to sprout a day or two ago.

Hamish