Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Adaptable highlanders?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question

Hello everyone,

Im new to the forum, (ive lurked on here for a while admiring everyones incredible plants!) but i finally decided to sign up a few days ago.

I've been growing Lowland nepenthes for about 6 years now, last year i went out on a limb and bought a few highland/intermediate hybrids (N. lowii x ventricosa red) (N. tomomi X Tiveyi) (N. truncata x ventricosa), I figured the N. lowii x ventricosa red would probably die but i had to try it anyway, To my complete surprise a year later its thriving, as are the other 2 plants.

The only other Highland/Intermediate plants I've grown are the more "adaptable" common ones (ventricosa, maxima, sanguinea, khasiana)....
    I was wondering if there are any other tolerant and adaptable highland species/hybrids out there? Ive always been afraid to try Highlanders but now I'm curious about trying others.

My growing conditions are roughly 85F/29C in the day, 70F/21C at night, "way above what i would consider highland"
    I think my growing temps may even be above what most would consider internediate.

here are a few of my older plants,

bicalcarata

(my not so gigantic) rafflesiana gigantea

dyneriana

truncata

Any advice on highland species/hybrids i might be able to grow under my conditions would be appreciated.

thanks [img]http://www.**********.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/new/smile.gif[/img]

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey Donn,

There are many adaptable highlanders out there....your best bet is to look for altitude ranges on the plants. Some that are clasified as highlanders can live fairly far down the mountain. Sanguinea is a good example.