Informational! Informational!:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Effects of fertilizing

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have been growing nepenthes for just under three years and many plants have grown well for me. Living in Hawaii with warm year around climates and good lighting, humidity and water, I have been successful in growing a wide range of species and hybrids. I base this success on fertilizing.

Here is an example of a cutting recently received in the mail of N. veitchii x albomarginata. The plant received lacked any pitchers or even evidence of a pitcher upon arrival. At about five months after receiving the cutting, it has produced a pitcher. Please see photo.

Other examples include this: thorelii (d) x Trusmadiensis seedling with many pitchers.

I have also noticed that many plants have also flowered quickly, and while this may not always be the desired goal, for breeding them allows for quick sex recognition and notation.
    N. diatas

N. spectabilis x veitchii

and Red Leopard

And now, seedlings start to show their color potential at an earlier age. This is N. ventricosa x (dubia x singalana) EP cross. Small seedlings.

More later,

Michael
    Morticia:\"Sic gorgiamus allos subjectatos nunc, 'We would gladly feast on those who try to subdue us.' Not just pretty words. but words to live by!\"

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Beautiful plants, Michael.

Can't wait to see (and learn) more.

Kpg
    "You cannot depend on your eyes when your imagination is out of focus" - Mark Twain

"Don't let it end like this. Tell them I said something." - Pancho Villa, last words.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Michael
    Great plants as ever [img]http://www.**********.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/new/smile.gif[/img] ,I love your climate,its lashing down here"UK,southampton,a mile from the coast,in the new forest"