What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

I have been growing nepenthes for just under three years and many plants have grown well for me.  Living in Hawaii with warm year around climates and good lighting, humidity and water, I have been successful in growing a wide range of species and hybrids.  I base this success on fertilizing.

Here is an example of a cutting recently received in the mail of N.  veitchii x albomarginata.  The plant received lacked any pitchers or even evidence of a pitcher upon arrival.  At about five months after receiving the cutting, it has produced a pitcher.  Please see photo.  
nep7010.jpg

Other examples include this: thorelii (d) x Trusmadiensis seedling with many pitchers.
nep7014.jpg

I have also noticed that many plants have also flowered quickly, and while this may not always be the desired goal, for breeding them allows for quick sex recognition and notation.
N. diatas
nep7018.jpg

N. spectabilis x veitchii
nep7068.jpg

and Red Leopard
nep6043.jpg

And now, seedlings start to show their color potential at an earlier age.  This is N. ventricosa x (dubia x singalana)  EP cross.  Small seedlings.

nep6003.jpg

More later,

Michael

Beautiful plants, Michael.

Can't wait to see (and learn) more.

Kpg

Hi Michael
Great plants as ever
smile.gif
,I love your climate,its lashing down here"UK,southampton,a mile from the coast,in the new forest"
I can see your going to have some great crosses in time.
More pictures please.
Bye for now julian

Michael, how do you fertilize them?
what do you use and how often?

Yossi.

Are there any species that dislike fertilizing, like northiana?