What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

forming pitchers

I'm fairly new to growing neps and was wondering about how long it should take for a nep to produce pitchers( in this case N. 'Miranda')
I've seen the tendrils slightly curl near the pitcher 'fetis' and then nothing seems to happen. I was just wondering how long it normally takes.

Depends on the species, as some grow faster than others. After production of a new leaf, the tendril must grow out to a length dependant on the species/hybrid, and the size of said leaf. After that, development of the pitcher itself will begin. I've never actually timed this, but from a fully opened new leaf with no tendril extension, to an open pitcher, I'd say 2-3 weeks

My 'Miranda' takes at least 4-6 weeks to go from a newly unfurled leaf to a pitcher bearing leaf.

Then if you have a species like my Truncata it seems to be in suspended animation and only so very slowly puting on size to the new inflating pitcher. It seems like it has been there for over a month and a half now! I just applied some slow selease fertilizer and I am hoping it will speed up now. LOL

[b said:
Quote[/b] (Farmer Dave @ Nov. 03 2006,7:15)]I've seen the tendrils slightly curl near the pitcher 'fetis' and then nothing seems to happen. I was just wondering how long it normally takes.
Once the tendrils start to curl upwards they should start to inflate as well.. problems could be humidity or temp too low

so there's nothing to worry about
smile.gif
........right?!?

If the tendrils turn upwards, then stop growing, then there is something to worry about. Probly too low temp or humidity..