Informational! Informational!:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Nepenthes growth experiment

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey all,

As some of you may know, I'm still an undergrad . Seeing as I love CPs, and I need to do something to kind of "get my name out there" so I can get into med school (haha), I was considering doing an experiment, and subsequently writing a paper on the effect of GA3 on Nepenthes seeds and their subsequent growth rate, as I have recently gotten my hands on a lot of seeds of a certain hybrid. I have done some preliminary "trials" I guess you could say, and have some evidence, though not so definite, yet, to believe that GA3, in high concentrations, can have a rather stark impact on nep growth rate. I plan on continuing this study for about 6-8 months. So far, I haven't seen anything online showing that anyone has done what I am thinking about doing.

My question is, would this be of something of interest to the community, or would I just kind of be wasting my time?

Any feedback appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
    Ron
    Z polski y dumny
    Prayer - how to do nothing and still think you're helping.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5F5aCUNE4Z8
    ^^^Newest vid

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    even though I haven't personally tried to grow Nepenthes from seed, I would still be interested(as I currently am).

It's been one of dem days BigCarnivourKid's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think it might be of some interest because GA3 is often used in the CP hobby.
    ---Steve Allinger---

How come chicken fingers are bigger than buffalo wings?

My Grow List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well...I decided I'd go ahead and do it anyway. Like I said, I have some slight, though not totally compelling evidence as to its effect. I love science...if I don't carry through with the experiment, its going to bother me until I do