What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Highlanders, Air movement and Humidity

Clint

Stay chooned in for more!
How important is night time humidity? My humidity ranges from 69 in the day at the lowest and 83 at the night at the highest. It's usually around 79 at night though. Does the night time humidity have to be really high? I'm growing with my terrarium only 50% covered and the night temp is about 65, sometimes dropping to 63, day temp about 72-75.

Should I mist everything really well at night before the lights go off? I'm new to highlanders, sorry :( I have one fan in there blowing across the water so that cools and humidifies a tiny bit. Should I add a second fan since it's only like a 6 inch fan and the terrarium is 75 gallons? I'm afraid to put it in any direction other than blowing across the water. I'm afraid I'll blow all of the humidified air out since the tank is only half way covered. Or is this enough air movement since the tank is partially open?

Growing plants in a cold terrarium that's only half covered is SO counter-intuitive from what I'm used to- Lowlanders growing in a sauna.

I got N. copelandii- Apo, N. gymnamphora, N. fusca, N. muluensis x lowii , and N. spectabilis today from a friend. I never though I could grow any of these :)

that should be plenty high enough.
one of the experienced growers should chime in, but I don't think you need the humidity any higher than what you have.
It's good that you have an increase at night.
I tried spraying my plants for a while and it ended up causing those fungus red spots on my leaves.

I have been spraying my ventrata for like 8 months..its going good and strong. :)