What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Okay i have been into carnivorous plants for about 2-3 yrs but have only grown Drosera, Pings, VFT, sarracenia.

Now i wanna try something new and want to try out Neps!

I do have peat moss, sphagnum, and perlite but not sure what else i mite need if any. Also have a 20 gal terrarium.

I plan on buying a fogger......good investment?

LASTLY! What Kinda Neps should i get if I'm new to neps but not to carnivorous plants?

I love my fogger, I feel it's a great investment. I put mine on a time though so it cycles between 30 mins on and 30 mins off. It will extend the life of the fogger, and keep the humidity reasonable.

Sounds like you got some years of experience, so I would say your first question to answer is can you provide the highland environment, or the lowland conditions better? If you can do lowland, the owner here has some very reasonably priced neps.

Nate.

Well i live in Southern California.....so more than likely imma have to start w/ lowlands just cuz its pretty warm here all yr round

warm days and cool nights :D

many people grow some amazing collections of neps in So. Cal. .
Alex

Last edited by a moderator:
southern california is more of an intermediate climate (like me!), but some parts are highland...where abouts are you?

basically, the higher you go, the more "highlandish" it gets, and the same is true the closer you get tot he beach...

well i live inland - riverside.......hot! i do plan on growing them in a terrarium but the reason im asking is cuz of my home temperatures

What are your home temperatures?