Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Little Tiny Bugs

Is ready to take this hobby to a whole new level DavyJones's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Little Tiny Bugs

Hi guys. I'm pretty new to this whole thing, only been at if for a few months. Anyways, I have an N. x velvet, that seems to be doing pretty well, but today I noticed some tiny little bugs running around on top of the soil. They resemble beatles a little bit, but are super tiny, and are a little shiny (might just be wings of some sort.) I would love to get a picture, but they are too small and fast to even dream about capturing on film.

Here is an extra little tidbit. I have also noticed that the base of the plant is starting to darken. You can see it in the pictures below. Somebody on another forum mentioned that the plant is young, and might be prepping to vine and beginning to grow a 'woodier base.'

click the thumbnails for much larger picture

Little Tiny Bugs

Little Tiny Bugs

So here are the questions...

1) How likely is it that the bugs are problematic, and not just living in the strata?

2) Do you think the bugs could be causing the base to darken?

3) Is the plant just growing a woodier base and preparing to vine?

The dark area is definitely not a fungus of any sort, but is slowly moving up the plant. Leaf growth does not seem to be hampered at all, but I haven't seen any pitcher development in the past month or so. Temps are consistent 70 degrees. I have a humidifier running right now, (for my nose, not the plants, but they enjoy it for sure.) Humidity is usually between 50% and 60%. It gets window light, plus 2 75 watt equiv. CFLs. I water it every 2-3 days, just enough for the water to come out the bottom of the pot and to keep the soil moist but not soaking. It is not sitting in a tray of water. Thanks for your help! sorry about the length of the post

EDIT: Here's its only pitcher right now. Just thought I'd throw it in for fun

Little Tiny Bugs

Mentioned