What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mmm, the smell of ...

Ok, ok -- so I am a bit new to the nepenthes side of things. For the past 4 or 5 years, I have had only 1 nep - (its a ventrata)...

Is it me - or --- after feeding a nepenthes a few slug, snails, and misc. other critters -- it just starts to smell interesting? I guess since the pitchers are now larger - they can hold more -- and now I have it in my new greenhouse so the air doesn't just waft away like it does when I grow it outdoors... I do have automatic openers that open when it gets like 85ish or so, but since its gettin' cooler -- don't think its opening as much, and I haven't been home really this week to open the manual vents. The high in the greenhouse was 80 today, low at night was about 50

I haven't been in the greenhouse in a few days - I walked in there today and noticed this smell -- it wasn't strong or anything tough -- but when I walked up to my nep and sniffed the pitcher - OH MAN!! DID THAT REEEEEK!! ( Oh, it only had about 4 slugs, some snails.... sitting in this nice liquid. Forget Starbucks folks, this is the real wake-up juice!!!)

So, how does one deal with it? Not feeding snails, slugs and other viscus meaty creatures would be my first guess -- and I'm guessing Febreeze don't make no spray for plants and Dr. Scholls odor eaters wont fit in the pitcher for now... so -- baking soda? Charcoal round the nep? it's bearable, but what about those others out there whose pitchers will catch things large enough that when the prey starts to decompose it starts to smell like pepe lepew?