What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Windowsill growers - number of healthy pitchers at once?

nightsky

Lover of Mountains
I'm still fairly new to neps, and this is my first winter season with my windowsill grown neps. They are growing fine and pitchering, but most are still small, ie 6" leafspan or less. I notice in many of the nep pics I see that a single plant will have 5 or more open and healthy pitchers at once. I figure that maybe in the wild or a perfect greenhouse this is common. But, in the 9 months I've been growing my neps, I've noticed that not any of my plants has more that 3 pitchers at a time. Ventricosa: 3 pitchers, then as soon as the 4th pitcher starts to inflate, the oldest pichter is killed off, keeping it at 3.

Just today I noticed my sanguinea starting to inflate a 3rd forming pitcher, and sure enough tonight the oldest pitcher started wilting. Like I said, the plants appear healthy and otherwise fine, but I'm curious if this is normal for windowsill grown neps. I also wondered if maybe it's just a product of them being kinda small still. Maybe once they get some size they'll be more prolific? No biggie, but I like the look of lots of pitchers at a time.

And then there's my little bongso, I've never had more than one pitcher at a time on that one. But it's slow growing, I'm getting maybe one leaf every 12 weeks. Must be a TC mutant.

with winter here they are going to be few in numbers... once summer comes around there will be more at one time.
sanguinea orange-3
fusca sarawak-1
rafflesiana-1
clipeata x eymae-2
venticosa-4
spectabilis x ventricosa- 5
truncata HL-2
mira-has 2 on it now...but i recently cut a few. so it usually has around 4

Alex