What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hello, I'm new to carnivorous plants. I just started this summer, I've ordered a Venus Fly Trap and a Sarr.

Both are doing very well and I know how to grow them and everything, they are growing rapidly too, very proud of myself.

So I'd like to branch out, I live in Minnesota and would like to buy a Nep.

What kind should I get a Highland or lowland, can anyone explain the diff.

I also need opinions on what kind look the nicest.

If anyone would, since I'm new to Neps if anyone could give some suggestions from that website on what kind I should get that'd be really cool.

I'm looking for a small one that I can watch grow. (I'll try seeds eventually but, baby steps I don't wanna kill my plants) also ones with really nice looking pitchers, hardy and not too hard to grow too would be great (first nep).

Also some basic information would be great, I've read online, but a lot of these websites probably don't know what they are talking about.

Thanks for the help, I know I'm asking a lot of stuff but I don't wanna kill my future nep.

Oh and one more thing, just a rant, my local grocery store sells VFTs, it disgusts me how unwell taken care of they are. There is some kind of mildew or something growing on them, the plants are really little, probably just growing.

Mini crappy pots, in a plastic box, not in sun, in a cold store, not watered.

Oh and I'm pretty sure they aren't even in the right kind of soil. I wanted to save one, but they all would take way too much to even bring back to somewhat normal.

Last edited by a moderator:
You cannot list the names of other dealers on this website. You will get a warning from a mod. my suggestion is to edit that post and take the name out.