What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dexenthes

Aristoloingulamata
First time ordering seeds off of ebay, and they finally arrived from the Czech Republic. I've never tried germinating Nepenthes seed before. I'm going to read through all my old carnivorous plant books, But I also wanted to know how, you guys that have raised Nepenthes seed, prefer doing it, what are your best results with? How would you go about germinating some Nepenthes spectabilis x aristolochioides ?

Because it's a hybrid could they germinate sooner? Has anyone raised this particular cross from seed before? Success rates?

Thanks!

Nepenthes seed will germinate on just about anything that is damp. Do not bury the seed. I prefer a mix of peat and sand. It is easy to remove them later without damaging the roots vs LFS. Keep them nice and moist. I also find a little bottom heat can help speed things along. I have not seen a difference between hybrids vs species germinating. Lowland things tend to germinate much faster but not always. The freshness of the seed is most important to determining success. If it's more than a few weeks old then it's probably already lost much of it's viability. Nepenthes are strange sometimes you get very fresh seed that looks like it's fully developed and ready to go and not a single thing pops up... I think I know which seller on Ebay you refer too and I wouldn't get your hopes up unfortunately. His auctions say fresh fresh in the title but when you read the details they say collected Summer 2009. Is that the seller?