Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New Sibuyanensis! Old Problem

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question New Sibuyanensis! Old Problem

Just got my new Sibuyanensis this week! But I'm affraid it's from the nursery which everyone has been bashing lately.

I'm surprised at the size of the plant, larger than promised, but not sure about the hitchhikers which may have followed. This plant seems to have heavy red spots under most of the leaves. The tops are almost untouched. I know that this species is prone to nectar spotting, but those stains are usually black, I think. Since I'm new to Nepenthes I want to put this out there.

Before I jump on the spider-mite bandwagon, what do think is causing the spotting??

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    meh. its similar but it doesnt look like spider mites to me. the black oval spots are nectar glands. it looks more like rust than mites. check closer and look for webbing or rub the underside of the leaf and check to see if you picked up anything off the leaves(brown specks mainly). if so then you have mites. treat with a systemic pesticide.

Alex
    Everything is explainable. The seemingly unexplainable is but a result of our insufficient knowledge.- Hans Brewer

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've dealt with spider mites, and I don't think that's what caused those spots. But, I don't know what it is for certain.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)