Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Fang Theory

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Fang Theory

Hi everyone

When I was visiting Ellison he showed me some of his tropical pitcher plants that have fangs on the hoods, and explained that no one is really sure why they have fangs.

I thought about it and came up with a theory:

If a small lizard or frog or large bug fell into the pitcher and tried to jump out, the fangs would keep them from jumping out by poking them, causing pain, resulting in the natural reaction of moving away from the pain, back into the pitcher.
    The fangs may be a way for the plant to keep things in the pitcher and not allow them to jump out.

Just a thought, I could be wrong, Im not an expert or anything
    Just wanderin around behind the little animals

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yeah---that was an old hypothesis....
    here's a newer one:
    we know know that Nepenthes bicalcarata shares some sort of symbiotic relationship with ants that live in its vines....the fangs hang precariously over the center of the pitcher...they also produce copious amounts of nectar. ants try to feast near these sites end up falling in.
    Last edited by Joseph Clemens; 03-18-2011 at 06:50 AM. Reason: N. A. - Nepenthes bicalcarata, not bicalarata
    " You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means." -Inigo Montoya
    +growlist
    +petiolaris drosera going dormant?
    +picture thread

Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    from a mechanical engineering point of view, the fangs may also serve as reinforcement gussets for the opening

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There is amphirion's hypothesis which is widely accepted as plausible. (I've seen it happen as well, though not with the specific symbiotic ant species, of course)