What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Nep ID?

Nepenthesis

Formerly known as Pineapple
For Christmas, I received a really nice nep. Not sure what kind though. From first look, I thought it was an N. alata, so I checked Google Images and it looks very similar. So is it an N. alata?

35mozfn.jpg

21vfd1.jpg

nlogba.jpg

Opinions? If it is N. alata, it is a highland species, correct? Does it require any special care that others will not? Temperature range? Anything else I should know?

I'm extremely new to neps. I really like this one because of the fullness of the plant. The pink pitchers are just a bonus. :)

Nepenthes × ventrata. Mine grows good on my kitchen windowsill.

Nepenthes × ventrata. Mine grows good on my kitchen windowsill.

Great, thanks! I'll stick it in my temporary terrarium for now until the weather warms up enough for me to put it in the new greenhouse. :)

---------- Post added at 10:11 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:32 AM ----------

I just watered it and it seems to be planed in just peat. I learned that it was a $16 Home Depot plant, so you can't expect it to be potted super nicely. Would repotting it be okay during this environmental transition stage?

Personally, I would leave it in the peat just now and not water too much. Try to keep it moist, rather than wet. It'll already be in enough shock from environment change without going through the shock of repotting. By the look of the plant, it as been growing nicely in it.