What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

N. Spectabilis Help

Hello everybody!

I just received a "large" Nepenthes Spectabilis from an online shop and was wondering if you could take a look at 2 pictures of it for me. I see that it has a nice looking small basal coming up from the soil but i'm not a complete expert and wanted to know your opinion on how the plant, in general, looks. Does it look healthy to you? I notice some leaves look like they may be on the way out and there is some red spots under the leaves in the one picture. Whats your thoughts on my specimen?
It doesn't look in tip-top shape to me, but I want to know if you think I ought to go bother complaining.
Also, whats your experience been with this species? I'm going to be windowsill growing for this one and have seen several people doing it.

Thank you!!

http://s17.postimage.org/4wg1h4rhr/photo.jpg

http://s14.postimage.org/ugg2mbke9/photo_copy.jpg

Looks okay. I think I know where you may have gotten it, the place I got my first Nepenthes from had presumably bad conditions because it took a few months to get the plant to pitcher... Looks like yours doesn't have many pitchers. Give it high humidity and good temps for a while and it should pitcher.

The basal looks very healthy. The main vine looks okay also.

When I got my N. ventricosa x talangensis, it had to pitchers and it looked pretty sucky... Now I love it since its pitchering! It was my first Nepenthes and I thought it would come with traps, blah blah, so I was pretty bummed about getting one with no traps. Now it looks amazing and is producing upper pitchers... So my advice to you is give it high humidity and optimal HL conditions and it will pitcher in no time. :)