What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Nepenthes coffee treatments

Hello everyone,

Does anyone here us coffee treatments on there nepenthes? I've never done this before for my plants... But I hear from a lot of people that this works great... What do you think? And what's the best way to start?

Much love,

Drew McClain

I give my plants coffee its the best way to fertilise neps. Use only filter coffee and give it biweekly. You will see results by the third month

ahh must be an ultra highlander thing.........my initial thought has always been "doesn't fertilizing nepenthes defeat the purpose of a carnivorous plant?" but I guess if you are dealing with a plant that takes 10 years to grow less than a foot then a little jolt may be what the doctor ordered :) . My lowland plants grow fast enough without additional fert....just addressed my x coccinae yesterday.....growth was beginning to stall and newest leaf was looking a little deformed. After only 4 months the rootball went from 1.5 inch circumference to root locking the 6 inch pot. oui.

i think watering neps with only pure water does not replicate what happens in the wild,so coffee treatment is a good idea,when you see wild nep populations(only in pictures for me)they are surrounded by other (non carnivorous) plants ,so there must be nutrients around,even if the plant is a strict epiphyte i would of thought nutrients will be washed into the nook its growing in

A lot of us give plants coffee here, every few weeks. I use it on both lowland and highland plants, and it definitely helps move things along.