What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Windowsill neps

Hi all :). I'm new to cp's but I've got the bug and am looking to expand my collection. I don't have any heating/lighting equipment but I DO have a lot of south facing windows. Any suggestions for fantastic looking windowsillers?

I grow a ton of nepenthes by my windows and have amazing looking plants that grow year around like this. for many years I have been doing this.
Start off with a common plant or even a hybird, so you can see the likes and dislike. Try: N.khasiana, N.ventricosa N.alata N.sanguinea, N.maxima, N.ventrata is most likely what most will tell you to grow and to start off with. You can even mist the plants once a day if you wanted to.. No need to over kill, but I don't even do that. I over head watering them all once a week. Hope I answered the question.

EC

I grow n. sanguinea, n. ventricosa, n. ventricosa red x n. ventricosa hot lips, n. gracilima (alba?), n. reinwardtiana, and n. glabrata x n./ spatulata in windowsill. mostly south facing but some east facing haha
all grow just fine, the questionable gracilima being the slowest with the least pitchers. reinwardtiana and ventricosa grow real strong.
none are exceptional, imo.

I'm a windowsill fan as well :) My plants are on southwest, southeast and northwest windows. I don't use additional lighting. They pitcher on all sides, but northwest window has greener leaves and fewer pitchers.
In spring I take them out to the balcony and they stay there until the end of October.

These make pitchers all year (order according to speed and number of pitchers):

1. N. Veitchii (lowland) ---- southwest and southeast window
2. N. Truncata x Ventricosa ---- southwest
3. N. Truncata x Veitchii ---- southwest