Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First Nepenthes

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

First Nepenthes

Hey guys,

I received my first tropical pitcher plant, a Nepenthes petiolata, last Thursday. Because I am a total newbie to these plants, I want to make sure my growing conditions are suitable.

The conditions:
    I am growing the plant without a terrarium on a shelf in my room because I have read on numerous occasions that a terrarium is not necessary. I mist it two to three times a day with distilled water to maintain moderate humidity levels.

The temperature is around 75 to 80 degrees with 60 degree nights. Occasional heat spikes reach the high eighties.

The lighting I am using is mounted two inches above the plant. It is an 18" bulb with an unknown Kelvin rating.

So, I am pretty sure the lighting is mounted too close to the plant and it can be adjusted without much trouble. Is it?

Also I know the actual lighting needs to be replaced. I will add an additional fixture. I am planning on using a pair of 18" bulbs with a 6500 Kelvin rating. Does this lighting plan sound suitable?

Pictures coming in a couple hours.

Thanks,
    Kenny

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've grown this species and it seems rather easy to me. Your conditions should be just fine for it..

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nice species to start your Nepenthes collection with! Your lighting plans are suitable, Nepenthes aren't as light hungry as other CPs. I've used a 2' 2 tube T5HO about 2' away from a small Nep collection and they all did very well. If you want them to burst with deep colors then you could go for the stronger lighting.

And welcome to the forums!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the advice! I was surprised when I found this plant because I understand its not one of the most abundant

Sorry about the lack of pictures. I need to figure out how to upload them ...

Mentioned