User Tag List

Informational! Informational!:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Symptoms of Root Mineral Burn (Nepenthes)?

Formerly known as Pineapple Nepenthesis's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Symptoms of Root Mineral Burn (Nepenthes)?

I've started watering with hose water after I found out my tap is about 30-80tds with a low amount of salts. I've been watering with rain water and distilled water for the past two years and I've never had issues with root burn. I started watering my entire Nepenthes & Sphagnum collection with hose water about a week ago, and I don't see anything wrong with the Sphagnum or the Nepenthes. I just have a few proactive questions...

1. How long does it usually take for the roots to burn from too many minerals?
    2. What are the symptoms of mineral burn on the roots?

I'm planning to buy enough distilled water to flush the pots every month or so. I just don't want to spend $20 on distilled water every week if I can get it for much cheaper and much more conveniently.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have been watering with tap water solely for almost 5 years (as long as ive been growing CP's) and my tds is 120-160 depending on the time of year. IMO, Neps are not as sensitive to salts as other CP's.
    If you water such that the water flows out the bottom of the pot you will never even have to flush with distilled water. The flushing is only needed if you allow salts to build up continually without it flowing out the bottom each watering or if you use the tray method.