What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Stem cuttings and Root cuttings

When you propagate nepenthes through root cuttings and stem cuttings, how old usually are the plants? Does it matter the age or is overall plant size more important? I ask because I want to be sure ahead of time exactly how I should go about it in a way as to avoid killing the original plant and ensuring that the cuttings have a chance of rooting. I will probably only really do stem cuttings, but in case I feel up to it I would like some advice on root cuttings too. Despite my experience with plants, I have very little experience propagating anything by cuttings. Since I am going to end up trimming vines anyways, might as well not waste potential plants. But I want to do it when the plant is good for it, I don't want to waste my rooting powder if it turns out plant age is a factor.

As far as I know, root cuttings are impossible for Nepenthes. Age of the plant isn't as important as the size of the plant. Most cuttings are taken from mature vines, but you can also root cuttings from a rosette (ex. basals). Rooting powder is not required, bit can increase the chances of the cutting striking.

In general, plants are best allowed to mature (meaning: to the vining stage, if possible) before you start taking cuttings. Your parent plant will fare better if it has already started forming new basal growth before you cut the main growth.

See: http://www.carnivorousplants.org/howto/Propagation/NepenthesPropCuttings.php

Nepenthes are not propagated from root cuttings, as you would with Drosera, for example.