What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anthony needs your help diagnosing his Nepenthes (NOT FOR ME)

Hey all you nepenthes expert, Anthony needs your advice

"my 1st thought was sunburn, but non of the other Neps around it has this. This is a N. Rajah x Mira, and it has been in the same spot for almost a year now. It was nice and healthy all summer and produced a pretty pitcher that lasted nearly all summer. "

file.php

I'm not an expert, but are those mineral deposits on the lower left leaf?

I'm not an expert, but are those mineral deposits on the lower left leaf?

they are not mineral deposits. its from the diluted maxsea spray I use. It dries on the leaves

We need some conditions here. Im shooting blind because this looks like everything between burns,
pesticide damages, miracle gro, and calcium deficiency.

Here's a pic of his set up
file.php

and this is his condition
temps are high around 70 daytime (give or take), around 55-50 night temps

Too much light, cold damage and lack of humidity are my bets

Last edited:
they are not mineral deposits. its from the diluted maxsea spray I use. It dries on the leaves

By definition, those are mineral deposits. If you're applying that much MaxSea to your plants foliage, then its likely to have a toxic effect. There are likely other cultivation problems here, but that one factor alone is significant and likely a contributor. There's no doubt about it - there's something seriously wrong for a plant to behave this way.