What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Should I be concerned about the coloring on this leaf?

Well, as you can see this isn't the oldest leaf. But it certainly is browning a lot faster than other leafs.

I assume its just normal browning but want to be sure, thanks!

IMG_0509_zpsp0wrhfh7.jpg

To be honest, I really dont think any of the coloring on that plant looks very good.

What does the coloring indicate to you? i sometimes think the distance between the plant and light is too close, but i dont'know.

Last edited:
Im relatively new to Carni plants, so I COULD be wrong, but it looks like that plant might be suffering.
The yellow usually isnt a very healthy color. It could be water or light issues.

What are your current setup specs?

Light's on 12 hours a day and is about 9 inches away from the plant

Day time avg temp = 70~73
Night time avg temp = 51~53
Day time avg humidity = 80~90%
Night time avg humidity = 95~98%

This is how it looked when I first got it
IMG_2401_zpsqmamylw5.jpg

Last edited:
I think the discoloration is due to your temps being too low. N. x Caesarion is a lowland hybrid (unless the N. veitchii used in the cross was the highland form, therefore still making it an intermediate grower). Your temps are perfect for highlanders, but not this cross. Has the plant been growing slowly?

What Light is on 12 hours a day and is about 9 inches away from the plant?

Woah..... I feel super retarded. I just went to the sellers site and clearly, the temperature requirements went over my head
Day Temperature:
70° - 85°F.
Night Temperature:
60° - 70°F.

WELL, what should I do now? Should I just leave it on a windowsill? oh my god .... I'm embarrassed.....