What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How important is pot size also moisture indicator"

I usually use pots from 6" to 9"-10" for my Neps-even if they're rather smaller plants (i.e immature 3-6" plants), is there any problems with doing it this way? Someone mentioned it might be better if I'd use smaller pots but my hypothesis is that I wouldn't have to repot for a much longer time. But since I'm relatively new to this (only about a year) perhaps in the long run this isn't the best plan.

Also, I've become worried about possibly overwatering, I keep all my Neps in terrariums, most of which are sealed (the highland enclosure does get more air flow than the others) and the pots have never been "dry" before I've flushed them again with R/O water. is there a moisture indicator that I could put in the potting mix (LFS, orchid bark & charcoal), has anyone used the moisture indicators from the plant shop? Any specific products that I could look for? Like a gradiated indicator?

Any ideas would be appreciated!