What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Superthrive!!!!!!

• Thread starter Guest
  • Start date
  • Tags
    nepenthes
G

How much superthrive do you suggest using for nepenthes? How much is too much?

I'm no expert on fertilizing CPs I actually only just started doing so because in the past I'd fried my CP collection with "kindness" so I vowed not to fertilize ever again. However, being the fiddler that I am, I started upon the advice of some folks here (when we were all at GW) and things are going very well.

For Superthrive I use 1 drop (ST is concentrated B vitamins) per gal in my fertilizer water and 10 drops per gallon when I take cuttings or do transplantings.

My fertilizer mixture is thus:
1/8 teaspoon of Shultz Orchid fertilizer
1 drop of Superthrive
several drops of liquid trace elements for aquarium plants. This adds Iron, magnesium, boron and things used in very minimum amounts.
All the above are added to a gallon jug marked with a big red X on each side and kept ontop of the refrigerator (this keeps the water a nice 70*-80*). So far I've had great results but I have also been feeding my nepenthes fruiflies (setting teh flies free in their sealed enclosure) on a weekly/bi weekly basis as well.

I think the key to fertilizing is moderation and starting with very low doses and inbetween waterings with fertilizer water with pure water to wash the substrate free of excess fertilizer that may be waiting to burn the roots.

Good luck!

For regular watering use 1 drops per 2 gallons of water and for concentrated does on cuttings and stubborn palnts use 1-2 drops per 1 gallon of water. Hope this helps! BTW,What nepenthes are you Superthriving?