Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie seeks help

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Unhappy

Hello all,

I am a newbie to cp's and have been doing some reading for the past two weeks trying to decide what kind of cps to start with and I think I am hooked on the beauty of the nepenthe ,

I was wondering what you would recommend as " easy" neps for a beginner? and does any one know where one can order or purchase them in Canada?

Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would go with N. ventricosa or a N. ventricosa hybrid like xVentrata (often labelled just N. Ventrata). They are very adaptable and do well on a bright windowsill. Your northerly climate would be the right temperature range also.

Sorry I can't help on the Canadian sources question ;<
    Tony
    Is that a Nepenthes in your pocket or you just happy to see me?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    the closest people I know to you gotta be NG and Tony, and they know all about growing stuff up in that place where ice and stuff is on the ground in the winter (strange) so I would definately heed their advice...

I can tell you your biggest obstacle will be warmth and humidity... especially humidity because your heater will rip it right out of the air.
    \"Maybe in order to understand mankind, we have to look at the word itself: \"Mankind\". Basically, it\'s made up of two separate words - \"mank\" and \"ind\". What do these words mean ? It\'s a mystery, and that\'s why so is mankind.\" ~ Jack Handey

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey! Where in Canada are you?

I can give you a few websites to get neps off of, but I wouldn't do it this time of year... Its starting to get on the cold side...