What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

nepenthes grafting

Hi everybody,

Just curious to know if somebody has already experienced grafting nepenthes. Gordon Cheers, on page 42 of his book, mentions the topic, but it remains quite theoretical to me...

Thanks already,

Greetings from Switzerland,

Olivier

I would too, have to see it to belive it. Peronsally the results of grafting seem quite probable to me personally. As long as you have healthy tissue and a reliable attachment site I think you could graft a slower growing rarer plant like N. villosa onto a more easier to grow plant like N. hamata for an example. I'm by no means an expert at this but merely adding a bit of input from what I do know about grafting.

Cheers!
Dustin

I think Cliff Dodd has successfully done this.

Regards,

Joe

Hmm, what little I've read on grafting is from Bonsai and that is so that strange cultivars of Acer palmatum can be more easily circulated since they aparently don't root very well.

When you do a cutting (of any plant) the cutting retains the genetic information from the parent plant which includes pitcher shape, pitcher color and plant growth rate. A cutting is the original "clone". I don't think that moving a slow plant and affixing it into the vine of a faster growing plant would do anything for the growth speed but I may well be wrong having never done it myself. It may be possible that the tissues will intermingle and the nutrient uptake may be different on a larger root system, but I don't know if it would actually effect the metabolism of the grafted plant so that it made leaves and pitchers faster since that is genetically controlled.