Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Too much light/heat? (pic)

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Angry

I am a cp newbie and got my first Nepenthes several weeks ago (Nepenthes ventricosa).

I've put it on a windowsill that gets morning to early afternoon sun. I'm in sunny San Jose, California, and am wondering if it's getting too much sun or heat. Firstly, one of the pitchers got what I can only describe as a burn mark (see bottom of pitcher in photo). Also, the pitchers use to be nice and 'smooth.' Now they veins on a couple of the larger pitchers are starting to come up (like vericose veins). I'm a little concerned that this is an indication that it's too dry.

It may have happened while I was away last week and it didn't get enough water...

Any advice or inputs?

thanks,
    Warren

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Did you feed the pitcher? Cause that looks like a rot mark(whats the proper term for that again?) from feeding a new plant before it has a chance to recop and produce acids and enzymes
    [img]http://home.**********.com/users/pondboy/Neps/Neps%20sig..JPG[/img]

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, I guess you could say it was fed. I didn't feed it intentionally, but somehow the ants found it (yes, they made their way into the house...) In fact, there were/are quite a few running around on it. Can I expect that this rot is going to spread on this pitcher?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've looked around a little bit at photos of ventricosa. I've seen a few photos with pitchers also having elevated veins, so I guess I'm OK with respect to light. It sounds like they like alot of light that a windowsill offers. I may not have been watering it enough though.

Also, I read one place that overfeeding isn't good for them. I'm a little worried that it got too many ants now (always a worrier), especially with pond boy's response.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)