Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to neps

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Exclamation

I'm pretty new to neps, and I was wondering if I should grow highlands or lowlands. I'm in Central Texas zone 7, so I'm guessing lowland. If anyone knows for sure what I should be growing, then please tell me so I will know what species to get. Any help will be appreciated.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You will probably find that lowlands are the easiest to start off with. They grow better in warm conditions, but not much over 90F and take temperatures down into the low 70's at night. Highland Nepenthes need cooler temperatures, down the the low 50's at night and no warmer than 80F during the day, perferable day temps in the 70's.

N. x ventrata
    N. x coccinea
    N. ampullaria
    N. x miranda
    These are a few starters. The x means that its a hybrid of one or more species.
    Nick

Careful where you crawl, it might be a trap!

http://www.carnivorium.com
    http://www.buckeyecarnivores.com

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well I am not from central Texas so I can only take a guess and say for the most part it is probably mild during the Winter and even hotter during the Summer. While temperatures are important other factors such as humidity may play a role.

Are you planning on growing them as a houseplant? In a terrarium all year? Outdoors? Indoors/outdoors as the weather permits? Outdoors in a greenhouse structure? etc etc..

Basically asking what you have in mind and what kind of conditions do you think you will have both on a short daily basis from day/night and longer term throughout the year. The more information you provide the better the suggestions will be tailored to your situation.

Tony

ps.. that green text is nearly impossible to read on a properly calibrated monitor [img]http://www.**********.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/new/smile_h_32.gif[/img]