Informational! Informational!:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Seedlings!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Talking

YAY! [img]http://www.**********.com/iBhtml/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif[/img] I just sprouted some bladderwort seeds (They were from the ICPS and I don't remember the name. I'll go check later). They're Trpoical and just have one or two leaves each. I'm not sure what to do next tho. The medium I have them in (runny peat) would just swallow them up if I dumped the thing out. I think I may be getting some algae in there so they may need to be moved pronto. What do I do? [img]http://www.**********.com/iBhtml/non-cgi/emoticons/confused.gif[/img]

Oh, BTW: I can't post a picture yet BCS they're in a jar so I can't get close to them and I can't zoom in far enuf with a DC (i'll post some pics asap, that is, if they don't die).

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey Gafato,

I'm not an expert, but mine are also in a jar and doing pretty well. I've got them in a small round goldfish bowl, about 3-5" inches. They're in two inches of water, and 1/4" peat at the bottom with a pinch of sand thrown in. Maybe put a little less water since you have little ones, just so some of the plant can touch the peat.

[img]http://home.**********.com/wickedthistle/ugibba.jpg[/img]
    A flytrap ate my homework!
    -Michelle

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Yeah, but I think they'll end up crowding each other. I'd like to get them somewhere where they can be a little more maneagable. BTW they're Longifolia. What are urs Thistle? They look aquatic. [img]http://www.**********.com/iBhtml/non-cgi/emoticons/confused.gif[/img]

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In my fairly limited experience growing utrics from seed, I've found that they grow very slowly at first. You will need to put them on a peat or sphagnum substrate.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)