What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Harvesting\storing utric seeds?

Please help! I need info on harvesting the seeds and also if
I can store them in a normal home-made white seed envelope also how many seeds would be a fair amount to give someone?

Hey Pond boy - What does "bump" mean? I just asked my teenage daughter, figuring she would be up on current colloquialisms. She didn't know, either.

Bump is a short-cut way to say you are moving the thread to the top of the list by replying to it without content. I bet your teenage daughter knows about bump-and-grind, though she may not admit it to you.

I am no expert with Utric seed but I will give it a go as no one else has...

It is hard to say with storring seed. Some seed needs to be sown straight away which seems the best aproach with most Utrics but some species will survive for many years. I think the fridge would be the best place to store most, in a paper envelope.

As for numbers, I would say atleast 30. Under a microscope it seems on average that about 1/2 of seeds seem to be sub standard (1/2 are big and jucy
tounge.gif
) so keep this in mind. The smaller the seed the more I give too as I feel they do not keep as well so may not have the germination rates of some larger seeds.

George

Thanks for replying! I`m surprised none of the "experts"(not saying your not an expert binata boy) haen`t posted.

Pondboy,

Most of us aren't very successful at producing seed, since most species do not self seed, and pollination is so very difficult. There are very few Utricularia experts here on this forum, mostly just plain old growers like you and me with a bunch of plants and a copy of Taylor IF they are lucky.
smile.gif