What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Genlisea violacea

Im going to get a piece of Genlisea violacea.
Will it root without problems?
The soil will be 2:1. 2 parts peat, one part perlite.
Is this O.K?
The person who is giving me the piece said that peat and
a bit of perlite is really good.
And how do I look after it?
It will be on a desk next to a east facing window.
It will NOT be in a terranium, it wil be in a water tray.
If you say its nessecery, I can put a plastic bottle
over the plant. The inside of the bottle will get sprayed 2 + times a day.
Apart from that, any other suggestions?
I am completely new to Genlisea.
Any help appreciated,
Dino
smile.gif

they do well in lowland conditions.

Wht about highland conditions?
I can NOT provide warm nights.

i guess you can try it. i dont know what will happen.

for most people its very easy to give plants lowland conditions and alot harder to give plants highland conditions. but just curious, why cant you give them warm nights?

Because the U.K does not have warm nights.
It will be in my room, and I dont want to
boil with heat at night.

you can use a heat mat for repriles, it wont heat up your room lol.

or you could get a small 10 gallon aquarium with a heat mat under that, or a fish bowl with a heat mat.. or whatever really