What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

A couple....hundred questions

Ok let me say this right now. I am VERY new to utrics and I don't have any and I've never had any. But I know that some of them grow in just plant water. So my question is.....well my questions are... can you just throw some seeds in a 10 gallon aquarium half full of distilled water with a plant light over it and they will grow? Also, if you have utrics that you grow in soil then how do they eat? If you buy sphagnum peat moss from stores there obviously aren't any bugs or anything in it right? I'm sure these are pretty newB questions but I can't seem to find the right answers that I need. I really would like to start growing these plants. How can I setup my own little "terraquarium" to grow this neat little plants. I think they have really nice flowers and that's pretty much the reason that I want to get some. Plus I love carnivorous plants. Also, where do I get water fleas to feed them? I never heard of them until I heard about utrics. Thanks in advance for any feedback just in case I forget. lol

-Kiento

Only aquatic Utrics can grow in 100% water. Only around 15% of Utrics are true aquatics(e.gU.gibba, U.macrorhiza) The rest have to be grown in soil, though you can occassionally flood terrestrial Utrics. It doesnt really matter what terrestrial Utrics eat. There are always some tiny bugs in the soil almost invisible to the naked eye, thats what they eat. I reccomend you start with terrestrial utrics. U.sandersonii is a good begginer and windowsill plant.
If you want to try an aquatic, try U.gibba.
Dino
smile_n_32.gif

Oh yeah, water fleas can be found in local ponds.
smile_m_32.gif