What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

U. macrorhiza in montana

Greetings,

This is my first time posting pictures.  If they are too large, ban me forever.

Last Saturday I went hiking in the mountains and found my first native CP--U. macrorhiza.  I took a few pictures.

The first pic is a general view of the habitat.
uhabitat1.jpg

I found a very large colony growing in a shallow acidic pond
uhabitat2.jpg

The plants seemed most abundant in water that had pieces of dead cattail leaves on the surface.  Some of the bladderworts floated on the surface, while others snaked along the bottom of the pond.
uhabitat3.jpg

A picture of a small plant.  Some of the larger ones were 3-4 feet long.
ucloseup1.jpg

A group of small plants. Note the shadows of trapped prey in the bladders of the bottom plant. 
ucloseup2.jpg

I'm hoping the plants will flower this summer, so I can get a some more photos.

Brian

Thank you for providing the pics! *compares pics with personal collection*

Very nice photos!  Thanks so much for taking the time to post them.

Hey Brian, beautiful country and geat pics, im headed to Dillon for press convention this weekend and cant wait to get back over in the mountains. ill get your sandersonii in the mail before i head out, life has just been hectic the last few weeks.

Hey Rattler!  That's right!  You are now a married man and the wedding is behind you!  Congratulations to you and your family!

TY Laura, wedding went well but other things came up and have thrown me for a whirl, making it hard to keep up with shipping plants.