What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Whoa. I just saw a fly get nabbed by a vft!

I've been growing these for a few years now, but tonight I just saw the first fly get caught by one of my flytraps! I couldn't believe my eyes, I even jumped a bit. Have you all seen them catch a bug on their own?

Capslock

Congrats Max.. welcome to the club
biggrin.gif

I've seen it happen once. It happened earlier this spring. I was quite surprised because the trap that made the catch was a winter trap that had been on the plant since it went dormant the fall before. The trap never reopened and later turned black and died, but it was quite a thrill to see the catch happen firsthand.

Steve

wow...ive been lucky. ive seen jumping spiders, small moths,...even som LFS
biggrin.gif
. but oddly enough ive never seen a fly being caught. ive seen them drinking the nectar and such but they never trip the trap.
Alex

I've never seen a Dionaea catch a bug on it's own.

Its funny when you see a VFT eat a scavaging Daddy Long leg...

Ive seen it happen once.

I was outside watering my plants when I saw a bug flying around my plants. I did'nt want to scare it away so I stood there as still as I could and watched it buzz around some Sarra's. Then make its way down to the VFT's. It avoided all the big traps and headed deep down into the forest of tiny traps and got snapped up. It was AWSOME to see it happen.

I'ts funny how uncommon actually seeing it happen seems to be!