What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

I'm new to CPing but I've studied the hobby very intensely for the past month or so, read 3 books on it and read lots of the posts in this forum as well online articles about CPs. I bought a Low Giant VFT about 2 weeks ago. It's newest leaves/traps are wrinkled and the trap part is kind of oval shaped. The wrinkled parts are still a vibrant green. I'm concerned that the problem may be the lighting. Maybe some of you guys can figure out the problem?

I have it in a 55 gallon tank. It is about 5 inches from a double 48" light fixture with Daylight light bulbs and about 9 inches from a double 48" HO T5 light fixture that has one white bulb and one actinic bulb. I leave the light on for about 16 hours a day. Also the tank is next to a window and gets about 8 hours of slightly shaded sunlight a day. I hang reflectors on the sides of the tank as well.

I have a thermometer near it and it tends to fluctuate from 70 - 85F. The humidity near it fluctuates from about 70 - 80% RH. It is in this range probably 99% of the time. This last weekend here in the South Bay Area California we had a heat wave. But I never saw the thermometer go above 85%. This is because I stuck a whole 1.2gallon humidifier right in the tank. I mist the plants every day and water them about twice a week but not thoroughly. The VFT is in live sphagnum peat moss(it came in it and I have not repotted it).